Simplify the EXIT macrot for VMS
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Wed, 13 Jan 2016 17:58:15 +0000 (18:58 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Wed, 13 Jan 2016 18:09:49 +0000 (19:09 +0100)
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
e_os.h

diff --git a/e_os.h b/e_os.h
index 8c644bf..4f2c775 100644 (file)
--- a/e_os.h
+++ b/e_os.h
@@ -376,24 +376,19 @@ extern FILE *_imp___iob;
 
      So, what we do here is to change 0 to 1 to get the default success status,
      and everything else is shifted up to fit into the status number field, and
-     the status is tagged as an error, which I believe is what is wanted here.
+     the status is tagged as an error, which is what is wanted here.
 
      Finally, we add the VMS C facility code 0x35a000, because there are some
      programs, such as Perl, that will reinterpret the code back to something
      POSIXly.  'man perlvms' explains it further.
+
      NOTE: the perlvms manual wants to turn all codes 2 to 255 into success
      codes (status type = 1).  I couldn't disagree more.  Fortunately, the
      status type doesn't seem to bother Perl.
      -- Richard Levitte
   */
-#   define EXIT(n)             do { int __VMS_EXIT = n; \
-                                     if (__VMS_EXIT == 0) \
-                                       __VMS_EXIT = 1; \
-                                     else \
-                                       __VMS_EXIT = (n << 3) | 2; \
-                                     __VMS_EXIT |= 0x10000000; \
-                                     __VMS_EXIT |=   0x35a000; \
-                                     exit(__VMS_EXIT); } while(0)
+#   define EXIT(n)  exit((n) ? (((n) << 3) | 2 | 0x10000000 | 0x35a000) : 1)
+
 #   define NO_SYS_PARAM_H
 #   define NO_SYS_UN_H