Fix DTLS session ticket renewal
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 13 Aug 2015 09:06:30 +0000 (10:06 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 26 Aug 2015 09:17:49 +0000 (10:17 +0100)
A DTLS client will abort a handshake if the server attempts to renew the
session ticket. This is caused by a state machine discrepancy between DTLS
and TLS discovered during the state machine rewrite work.

The bug can be demonstrated as follows:

Start a DTLS s_server instance:
openssl s_server -dtls

Start a client and obtain a session but no ticket:
openssl s_client -dtls -sess_out session.pem -no_ticket

Now start a client reusing the session, but allow a ticket:
openssl s_client -dtls -sess_in session.pem

The client will abort the handshake.

Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
ssl/d1_clnt.c

index d411614..083333e 100644 (file)
@@ -380,6 +380,10 @@ int dtls1_connect(SSL *s)
 #endif
 
                     s->state = SSL3_ST_CR_CHANGE_A;
+                    if (s->tlsext_ticket_expected) {
+                        /* receive renewed session ticket */
+                        s->state = SSL3_ST_CR_SESSION_TICKET_A;
+                    }
                 } else
                     s->state = DTLS1_ST_CR_HELLO_VERIFY_REQUEST_A;
             }