Empty SNI names are not valid
authorViktor Dukhovni <openssl-users@dukhovni.org>
Sat, 16 Jan 2016 17:57:24 +0000 (12:57 -0500)
committerViktor Dukhovni <openssl-users@dukhovni.org>
Sun, 17 Jan 2016 02:14:02 +0000 (21:14 -0500)
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
ssl/s3_lib.c

index f716d77..d3d8221 100644 (file)
@@ -3221,6 +3221,8 @@ long ssl3_ctrl(SSL *s, int cmd, long larg, void *parg)
 #ifndef OPENSSL_NO_TLSEXT
     case SSL_CTRL_SET_TLSEXT_HOSTNAME:
         if (larg == TLSEXT_NAMETYPE_host_name) {
+            size_t len;
+
             if (s->tlsext_hostname != NULL)
                 OPENSSL_free(s->tlsext_hostname);
             s->tlsext_hostname = NULL;
@@ -3228,7 +3230,8 @@ long ssl3_ctrl(SSL *s, int cmd, long larg, void *parg)
             ret = 1;
             if (parg == NULL)
                 break;
-            if (strlen((char *)parg) > TLSEXT_MAXLEN_host_name) {
+            len = strlen((char *)parg);
+            if (len == 0 || len > TLSEXT_MAXLEN_host_name) {
                 SSLerr(SSL_F_SSL3_CTRL, SSL_R_SSL3_EXT_INVALID_SERVERNAME);
                 return 0;
             }