Warn when doing an out-of-source build and finding in-source build artifacts
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 21 Apr 2016 16:03:16 +0000 (18:03 +0200)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Fri, 22 Apr 2016 16:20:47 +0000 (18:20 +0200)
The reason to warn is that configuration *may* pick up on
configuration header files that are in the source tree, that might be
for a wildly different configuration than what is expected in the
current out-of-source configuration.

Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Configure

index 35ac2cc..4a870c0 100755 (executable)
--- a/Configure
+++ b/Configure
@@ -1923,6 +1923,14 @@ or position independent code, please let us know (but please first make sure
 you have tried with a current version of OpenSSL).
 EOF
 
+print <<"EOF" if (-f catfile($srcdir, "configdata.pm") && $srcdir ne $blddir);
+
+WARNING: there are indications that another build was made in the source
+directory.  This build may have picked up artifacts from that build, the
+safest course of action is to clean the source directory and redo this
+configuration.
+EOF
+
 exit(0);
 
 ######################################################################