Enhance OpenSSL::Test::cmdstr to give cmd string variants
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Fri, 1 Apr 2016 13:05:52 +0000 (15:05 +0200)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Sat, 2 Apr 2016 21:13:42 +0000 (23:13 +0200)
Within OpenSSL::Test, all commands end up existing in two variants,
one that has redirections that are needed internally to work well
together with the test harness, and one without those redirections.

Depending on what the result is going to be used for, the caller may
want one for or the other, so we give them the possibility.

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
test/testlib/OpenSSL/Test.pm

index b0a609f..ca2e369 100644 (file)
@@ -548,19 +548,42 @@ sub with {
 
 =over 4
 
-=item B<cmdstr CODEREF>
+=item B<cmdstr CODEREF, OPTS>
 
 C<cmdstr> takes a CODEREF from C<app> or C<test> and simply returns the
 command as a string.
 
+C<cmdstr> takes some additiona options OPTS that affect the string returned:
+
+=over 4
+
+=item B<display =E<gt> 0|1>
+
+When set to 0, the returned string will be with all decorations, such as a
+possible redirect of stderr to the null device.  This is suitable if the
+string is to be used directly in a recipe.
+
+When set to 1, the returned string will be without extra decorations.  This
+is suitable for display if that is desired (doesn't confuse people with all
+internal stuff), or if it's used to pass a command down to a subprocess.
+
+Default: 0
+
+=back
+
 =back
 
 =cut
 
 sub cmdstr {
     my ($cmd, $display_cmd) = shift->(0);
+    my %opts = @_;
 
-    return $cmd;
+    if ($opts{display}) {
+        return $display_cmd;
+    } else {
+        return $cmd;
+    }
 }
 
 =over 4