Improve the output of `make doc-nits`
authorDr. Matthias St. Pierre <Matthias.St.Pierre@ncp-e.com>
Mon, 18 Jun 2018 20:09:20 +0000 (22:09 +0200)
committerDr. Matthias St. Pierre <Matthias.St.Pierre@ncp-e.com>
Tue, 19 Jun 2018 15:13:03 +0000 (17:13 +0200)
- Print positive feedback in the case when 'make doc-nits' finds no errors.
- Other than before, keep the 'doc-nits' output file only in case of errors
  and remove it if it is empty.
- Declare 'doc-nits' as a phony make target to facilitate rerunning
  'make doc-nits' without having to remove the output file first.

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/6517)

Configurations/unix-Makefile.tmpl

index 10deec6..42da98d 100644 (file)
@@ -708,9 +708,11 @@ update: generate errors ordinals
 generate: generate_apps generate_crypto_bn generate_crypto_objects \
           generate_crypto_conf generate_crypto_asn1 generate_fuzz_oids
 
+.PHONY: doc-nits
 doc-nits:
        (cd $(SRCDIR); $(PERL) util/find-doc-nits -n -p ) >doc-nits
-       if [ -s doc-nits ] ; then cat doc-nits; rm doc-nits ; exit 1; fi
+       @if [ -s doc-nits ] ; then cat doc-nits ; exit 1; \
+       else echo 'doc-nits: no errors.'; rm doc-nits ; fi
 
 # Test coverage is a good idea for the future
 #coverage: $(PROGRAMS) $(TESTPROGRAMS)