Stop init loops
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Mon, 14 Nov 2016 22:53:45 +0000 (23:53 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Tue, 15 Nov 2016 00:27:26 +0000 (01:27 +0100)
Under certain circumstances, the libcrypto init code would loop,
causing a deadlock.  This would typically happen if something in
ossl_init_base() caused an OpenSSL error, and the error stack routines
would recurse into the init code before the flag that ossl_init_base()
had been run was checked.

This change makes sure ossl_init_base isn't run once more of the base
is initiated.

Thanks to Dmitry Kostjuchenko for the idea.

Fixes Github issue #1899

Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/1922)

crypto/init.c

index e457b2d..01619bc 100644 (file)
@@ -503,7 +503,7 @@ int OPENSSL_init_crypto(uint64_t opts, const OPENSSL_INIT_SETTINGS *settings)
         return 0;
     }
 
-    if (!RUN_ONCE(&base, ossl_init_base))
+    if (!base_inited && !RUN_ONCE(&base, ossl_init_base))
         return 0;
 
     if ((opts & OPENSSL_INIT_NO_LOAD_CRYPTO_STRINGS)