RT1369: don't do "helpful" access check.
authorRich Salz <rsalz@akamai.com>
Mon, 4 May 2015 11:52:27 +0000 (07:52 -0400)
committerRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Mon, 4 May 2015 14:44:58 +0000 (10:44 -0400)
Don't do access check on destination directory; it breaks when euid/egid
is different from real uid/gid.

Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Signed-off-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@akamai.com>
apps/ca.c

index 2f43a9b..b6cf47f 100644 (file)
--- a/apps/ca.c
+++ b/apps/ca.c
@@ -703,24 +703,13 @@ end_of_options:
 #ifndef OPENSSL_SYS_VMS
         /*
          * outdir is a directory spec, but access() for VMS demands a
-         * filename.  In any case, stat(), below, will catch the problem if
-         * outdir is not a directory spec, and the fopen() or open() will
-         * catch an error if there is no write access.
-         *
-         * Presumably, this problem could also be solved by using the DEC C
-         * routines to convert the directory syntax to Unixly, and give that
-         * to access().  However, time's too short to do that just now.
+         * filename.  We could use the DEC C routine to convert the
+         * directory syntax to Unixly, and give that to app_isdir,
+         * but for now the fopen will catch the error if it's not a
+         * directory
          */
-        if (app_access(outdir, R_OK | W_OK | X_OK) != 0)
-        {
-            BIO_printf(bio_err, "I am unable to access the %s directory\n",
-                       outdir);
-            perror(outdir);
-            goto end;
-        }
-
         if (app_isdir(outdir) <= 0) {
-            BIO_printf(bio_err, "%s need to be a directory\n", outdir);
+            BIO_printf(bio_err, "%s: %s is not a directory\n", prog, outdir);
             perror(outdir);
             goto end;
         }