Don't use '-z defs' if sanitizers are used
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Tue, 7 May 2019 08:48:30 +0000 (10:48 +0200)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 9 May 2019 04:41:42 +0000 (06:41 +0200)
There are quite a number of sanitizers for clang that aren't
documented in the clang user documentation.  This makes it impossible
to be selective about what sanitizers to look at to determine if
'-z defs' should be used of not.

Under these circumstances, the sane thing to do is to just look for
any sanitizer specification and not use '-z defs' if there's one
present.

Fixes #8735

Reviewed-by: Paul Dale <paul.dale@oracle.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/8892)

Configurations/shared-info.pl

index 83f28bd..2e2d28d 100644 (file)
@@ -33,9 +33,9 @@ my %shared_info;
             %{$shared_info{'gnu-shared'}},
             shared_defflag    => '-Wl,--version-script=',
             dso_ldflags       =>
             %{$shared_info{'gnu-shared'}},
             shared_defflag    => '-Wl,--version-script=',
             dso_ldflags       =>
-                $disabled{asan} && $disabled{msan} && $disabled{ubsan}
-                ? '-z defs'
-                : '',
+                (grep /(?:^|\s)-fsanitize/, @{$config{CFLAGS}})
+                ? ''
+                : '-z defs',
         };
     },
     'bsd-gcc-shared' => sub { return $shared_info{'linux-shared'}; },
         };
     },
     'bsd-gcc-shared' => sub { return $shared_info{'linux-shared'}; },