RT 3854: Update apps/req
authorEmilia Kasper <emilia@openssl.org>
Tue, 2 Feb 2016 16:12:45 +0000 (17:12 +0100)
committerEmilia Kasper <emilia@openssl.org>
Fri, 12 Feb 2016 13:09:26 +0000 (14:09 +0100)
Change the default keysize to 2048 bits, and the minimum to 512 bits.

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
apps/req.c
doc/apps/req.pod

index 3ced170..66bcabc 100644 (file)
@@ -89,8 +89,8 @@
 #define STRING_MASK     "string_mask"
 #define UTF8_IN         "utf8"
 
-#define DEFAULT_KEY_LENGTH      512
-#define MIN_KEY_LENGTH          384
+#define DEFAULT_KEY_LENGTH      2048
+#define MIN_KEY_LENGTH          512
 
 static int make_REQ(X509_REQ *req, EVP_PKEY *pkey, char *dn, int mutlirdn,
                     int attribs, unsigned long chtype);
index 9593dec..12a0687 100644 (file)
@@ -324,9 +324,12 @@ configuration file values.
 
 =item B<default_bits>
 
-This specifies the default key size in bits. If not specified then
-512 is used. It is used if the B<-new> option is used. It can be
-overridden by using the B<-newkey> option.
+Specifies the default key size in bits.
+
+This option is used in conjunction with the B<-new> option to generate
+a new key. It can be overridden by specifying an explicit key size in
+the B<-newkey> option. The smallest accepted key size is 512 bits. If
+no key size is specified then 2048 bits is used.
 
 =item B<default_keyfile>