Sanity check EVP_EncodeUpdate buffer len
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Mon, 27 Apr 2015 10:13:56 +0000 (11:13 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 30 Apr 2015 22:26:07 +0000 (23:26 +0100)
There was already a sanity check to ensure the passed buffer length is not
zero. Extend this to ensure that it also not negative. Thanks to Kevin
Wojtysiak (Int3 Solutions) and Paramjot Oberoi (Int3 Solutions) for
reporting this issue.

Reviewed-by: Andy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
(cherry picked from commit b86d7dca69f5c80abd60896c8ed3039fc56210cc)

crypto/evp/encode.c

index d1d8a07..5c5988f 100644 (file)
@@ -137,7 +137,7 @@ void EVP_EncodeUpdate(EVP_ENCODE_CTX *ctx, unsigned char *out, int *outl,
     unsigned int total = 0;
 
     *outl = 0;
-    if (inl == 0)
+    if (inl <= 0)
         return;
     OPENSSL_assert(ctx->length <= (int)sizeof(ctx->enc_data));
     if ((ctx->num + inl) < ctx->length) {