unified build system: add CHANGES & NEWS
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Sat, 30 Jan 2016 06:17:01 +0000 (07:17 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Wed, 10 Feb 2016 13:41:43 +0000 (14:41 +0100)
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
CHANGES
NEWS

diff --git a/CHANGES b/CHANGES
index d0bd6ac..0bbc257 100644 (file)
--- a/CHANGES
+++ b/CHANGES
@@ -3,6 +3,25 @@
  _______________
 
  Changes between 1.0.2f and 1.1.0  [xx XXX xxxx]
+
+  *) New "unified" build system
+
+     The "unified" build system is aimed to be a common system for all
+     platforms we support.  With it comes new support for VMS.
+
+     This system builds supports building in a differnt directory tree
+     than the source tree.  It produces one Makefile (for unix family
+     or lookalikes), or one descrip.mms (for VMS).
+
+     The source of information to make the Makefile / descrip.mms is
+     small files called 'build.info', holding the necessary
+     information for each directory with source to compile, and a
+     template in Configurations, like unix-Makefile.tmpl or
+     descrip.mms.tmpl.
+
+     We rely heavily on the perl module Text::Template.
+     [Richard Levitte]
+
   *) Added support for auto-initialisation and de-initialisation of the library.
      OpenSSL no longer requires explicit init or deinit routines to be called,
      except in certain circumstances. See the
diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index b33af1c..2f91e2d 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -33,6 +33,7 @@
         directory location rather than --openssldir.  The latter becomes
         the directory for certs, private key and openssl.cnf exclusively.
       o Reworked BIO networking library, with full support for IPv6.
+      o New "unified" build system
 
   Major changes between OpenSSL 1.0.2e and OpenSSL 1.0.2f [28 Jan 2016]