Relax the requirements for a debug build
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 14 Jan 2016 16:03:58 +0000 (17:03 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Thu, 14 Jan 2016 16:42:38 +0000 (17:42 +0100)
We required that a target be named 'debug-something' or to have at
least one of the configuration items debug_cflags and debug_lflags for
--debug to be accepted.

However, there are targets with no such markings but that will still
have debugging capabilities.  This is particularly true for mk1mf
builds, where the extra flags for debugging are figured out later on
by util/mk1mf.pl.

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Configure

index 4867475..c309485 100755 (executable)
--- a/Configure
+++ b/Configure
@@ -1268,22 +1268,17 @@ print "Configuring for $target\n";
 my ($d, $t) = $target =~ m/^(debug-)?(.*)$/;
 if ($d) {
     $build_prefix = "debug_";
+    $target = $t;
 
     # If we do not find debug-foo in the table, the target is set to foo,
     # but only if the foo target has a noon-empty debug_cflags or debug_lflags
     # attribute.
-    if (!$table{$target} && ($table{$t}->{debug_cflags}
-                            || $table{$t}->{debug_lflags})) {
+    if (!$table{$target}) {
        $target = $t;
     }
 }
 
-&usage if (!defined($table{$target})
-          || $table{$target}->{template}
-          || ($build_prefix eq "debug_"
-              && $target !~ /^debug-/
-              && !($table{$target}->{debug_cflags}
-                   || $table{$target}->{debug_lflags})));
+&usage if (!defined($table{$target}) || $table{$target}->{template});
 
 if ($fips)
        {