params: avoid a core dump with a null pointer and a get string call
authorPauli <paul.dale@oracle.com>
Mon, 6 Apr 2020 01:53:10 +0000 (11:53 +1000)
committerPauli <paul.dale@oracle.com>
Tue, 7 Apr 2020 23:14:17 +0000 (09:14 +1000)
Previous a get string (UTF8 or octet) params call would memcpy(2) from a NULL
pointer if the OSSL_PARAM didn't have its data field set.  This change makes
the operation fail rather than core dump and it returns to param size (if set).

Reviewed-by: Tomas Mraz <tmraz@fedoraproject.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/11474)

crypto/params.c

index 5d1fc6a..64d53c5 100644 (file)
@@ -778,6 +778,8 @@ static int get_string_internal(const OSSL_PARAM *p, void **val, size_t max_len,
 
     if (sz == 0)
         return 1;
+    if (p->data == NULL)
+        return 0;
 
     if (*val == NULL) {
         char *const q = OPENSSL_malloc(sz);