crypto/armcap.c: short-circuit processor capability probe in iOS builds.
authorAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Wed, 15 Feb 2017 11:01:09 +0000 (12:01 +0100)
committerAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Wed, 15 Feb 2017 22:16:23 +0000 (23:16 +0100)
Capability probing by catching SIGILL appears to be problematic
on iOS. But since Apple universe is "monocultural", it's actually
possible to simply set pre-defined processor capability mask.

Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/2617)

crypto/armcap.c

index 4215766..2953484 100644 (file)
@@ -111,6 +111,24 @@ void OPENSSL_cpuid_setup(void)
         return;
     }
 
+# if defined(__APPLE__) && !defined(__aarch64__)
+    /*
+     * Capability probing by catching SIGILL appears to be problematic
+     * on iOS. But since Apple universe is "monocultural", it's actually
+     * possible to simply set pre-defined processor capability mask.
+     */
+    if (1) {
+        OPENSSL_armcap_P = ARMV7_NEON;
+        return;
+    }
+    /*
+     * One could do same even for __aarch64__ iOS builds. It's not done
+     * exclusively for reasons of keeping code unified across platforms.
+     * Unified code works because it never triggers SIGILL on Apple
+     * devices...
+     */
+# endif
+
     sigfillset(&all_masked);
     sigdelset(&all_masked, SIGILL);
     sigdelset(&all_masked, SIGTRAP);