Explicitly mention PKCS5_PBKDF2_HMAC in EVP doc.
authorJeffrey Walton <noloader@gmail.com>
Sun, 7 Jun 2015 01:52:56 +0000 (21:52 -0400)
committerRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Tue, 9 Jun 2015 00:20:24 +0000 (20:20 -0400)
Signed-off-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
doc/crypto/EVP_BytesToKey.pod

index e6df57d..dca5239 100644 (file)
@@ -36,8 +36,8 @@ If the total key and IV length is less than the digest length and
 B<MD5> is used then the derivation algorithm is compatible with PKCS#5 v1.5
 otherwise a non standard extension is used to derive the extra data.
 
-Newer applications should use more standard algorithms such as PBKDF2 as
-defined in PKCS#5v2.1 for key derivation.
+Newer applications should use a more modern algorithm such as PBKDF2 as
+defined in PKCS#5v2.1 and provided by PKCS5_PBKDF2_HMAC.
 
 =head1 KEY DERIVATION ALGORITHM