VMS: add a note about DECC$* logical names
authorRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Fri, 25 Mar 2016 07:27:35 +0000 (08:27 +0100)
committerRichard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Fri, 25 Mar 2016 08:05:46 +0000 (09:05 +0100)
These logical names are used to make the C RTL change certain
behaviors, sometimes to make it act more like Unix.  While they can
make life easier in some cases, they can be disruptive as well.  When
building and testing OpenSSL, the latter is the case, so we ask people
to avoid using them.

Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
NOTES.VMS

index 034ecf4..ba1dbb4 100644 (file)
--- a/NOTES.VMS
+++ b/NOTES.VMS
  About ANSI C compiler
  ---------------------
 
- An ANSI C compiled is needed among other things.  This means that VAX C
- is not and will not be supported.
+ An ANSI C compiled is needed among other things.  This means that
VAX C is not and will not be supported.
 
- We have only tested with DEC C (a.k.a HP VMS C / VSI C), compiling with
- a different ANSI C compiler may require some work.
+ We have only tested with DEC C (a.k.a HP VMS C / VSI C), compiling
+ with a different ANSI C compiler may require some work.
+
+ Please avoid using C RTL feature logical names DECC$* when building
+ and testing OpenSSL.  Most of all, they can be disruptive when
+ running the tests, as they affect the Perl interpreter.
 
 
  About MMS and DCL