Ensure minsize >= sizeof(SH_LIST)
authorPauli <paul.dale@oracle.com>
Fri, 17 Feb 2017 00:39:20 +0000 (10:39 +1000)
committerRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Tue, 21 Feb 2017 14:44:50 +0000 (09:44 -0500)
The sh_add_to_list function will overwrite subsequent slots in the free list
for small allocations.  This causes a segmentation fault if the writes goes
off the end of the secure memory.  I've not investigated if this problem
can overwrite memory without the segmentation fault, but it seems likely.

This fix limits the minsize to the sizeof of the SH_LIST structure (which
also has a side effect of properly aligning the pointers).

The alternative would be to return an error if minsize is too small.

Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/2657)

crypto/mem_sec.c

index 0c79b43..4a3f2a8 100644 (file)
@@ -1,5 +1,5 @@
 /*
- * Copyright 2015-2016 The OpenSSL Project Authors. All Rights Reserved.
+ * Copyright 2015-2017 The OpenSSL Project Authors. All Rights Reserved.
  *
  * Licensed under the OpenSSL license (the "License").  You may not use
  * this file except in compliance with the License.  You can obtain a copy
@@ -352,6 +352,9 @@ static int sh_init(size_t size, int minsize)
     if (minsize <= 0 || (minsize & (minsize - 1)) != 0)
         goto err;
 
+    while (minsize < (int)sizeof(SH_LIST))
+        minsize *= 2;
+
     sh.arena_size = size;
     sh.minsize = minsize;
     sh.bittable_size = (sh.arena_size / sh.minsize) * 2;