Fix write failure handling in DTLS1.2
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 29 Jul 2015 22:20:56 +0000 (23:20 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 30 Jul 2015 09:17:53 +0000 (10:17 +0100)
The DTLS code is supposed to drop packets if we try to write them out but
the underlying BIO write buffers are full. ssl3_write_pending() contains
an incorrect test for DTLS that controls this. The test only checks for
DTLS1 so DTLS1.2 does not correctly clear the internal OpenSSL buffer which
can later cause an assert to be hit. This commit changes the test to cover
all DTLS versions.

RT#3967

Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
ssl/record/rec_layer_s3.c

index 79d3c21..d6e922c 100644 (file)
@@ -929,7 +929,7 @@ int ssl3_write_pending(SSL *s, int type, const unsigned char *buf,
             s->rwstate = SSL_NOTHING;
             return (s->rlayer.wpend_ret);
         } else if (i <= 0) {
-            if (s->version == DTLS1_VERSION || s->version == DTLS1_BAD_VER) {
+            if (SSL_IS_DTLS(s)) {
                 /*
                  * For DTLS, just drop it. That's kind of the whole point in
                  * using a datagram service