Remove the engine parameter from the provider MAC documentations
authorPauli <paul.dale@oracle.com>
Sun, 22 Sep 2019 00:49:10 +0000 (10:49 +1000)
committerPauli <paul.dale@oracle.com>
Wed, 25 Sep 2019 01:20:42 +0000 (11:20 +1000)
Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/9971)

doc/man7/provider-mac.pod

index 14fb3af..77feab6 100644 (file)
@@ -185,22 +185,12 @@ Gets flags associated with the MAC.
 Sets the name of the underlying cipher or digest to be used.
 It must name a suitable algorithm for the MAC that's being used.
 
-=item B<OSSL_MAC_PARAM_ENGINE> (utf8 string)
-
-Sets the name of an engine that implements the underlying algorithm.
-This must be given together with the algorithm naming parameter to be
-considered valid.
-
 =item B<OSSL_MAC_PARAM_PROPERTIES> (utf8 string)
 
 Sets the properties to be queried when trying to fetch the underlying algorithm.
 This must be given together with the algorithm naming parameter to be
 considered valid.
 
-Note that both this and B<OSSL_MAC_PARAM_ENGINE> can be given at the same time.
-If the underlying algorithm ends up being fetched from a provider, offered by
-and engine, or a built in legacy function depends on what is available.
-
 =item B<OSSL_MAC_PARAM_SIZE> (int)
 
 Can be used to get the resulting MAC size.