Fix SSL_clear() in TLSv1.3
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Tue, 18 Jul 2017 10:18:31 +0000 (11:18 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Tue, 18 Jul 2017 16:35:34 +0000 (17:35 +0100)
SSL_clear() does not reset the SSL_METHOD if a session already exists in
the SSL object. However, TLSv1.3 does not have an externally visible
version fixed method (only an internal one). The state machine assumes
that we are always starting from a version flexible method for TLSv1.3.
The simplest solution is to just fix SSL_clear() to always reset the method
if it is using the internal TLSv1.3 version fixed method.

Reviewed-by: Ben Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Reviewed-by: Bernd Edlinger <bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/3954)

ssl/ssl_lib.c

index cef8e41..d02e281 100644 (file)
@@ -566,10 +566,12 @@ int SSL_clear(SSL *s)
 
     /*
      * Check to see if we were changed into a different method, if so, revert
-     * back if we are not doing session-id reuse.
+     * back. We always do this in TLSv1.3. Below that we only do it if we are
+     * not doing session-id reuse.
      */
-    if (!ossl_statem_get_in_handshake(s) && (s->session == NULL)
-        && (s->method != s->ctx->method)) {
+    if (s->method != s->ctx->method
+            && (SSL_IS_TLS13(s)
+                || (!ossl_statem_get_in_handshake(s) && s->session == NULL))) {
         s->method->ssl_free(s);
         s->method = s->ctx->method;
         if (!s->method->ssl_new(s))