req command incorrectly displays the bits for an EC key
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 1 Jun 2016 09:48:36 +0000 (10:48 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 1 Jun 2016 12:09:26 +0000 (13:09 +0100)
When the "req" command is used to generate a new EC key using the -newkey
option it will incorrectly display:

 Generating a 2048 bit EC private key

This commit fixes the message to not display the bit length for EC keys
because we don't currently support getting that during generation.

GitHub Issue #1068

Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
apps/req.c

index aaca43a..ca8a9af 100644 (file)
@@ -499,8 +499,12 @@ int req_main(int argc, char **argv)
             }
         }
 
-        BIO_printf(bio_err, "Generating a %ld bit %s private key\n",
-                   newkey, keyalgstr);
+        if (pkey_type == EVP_PKEY_EC) {
+            BIO_printf(bio_err, "Generating an EC private key\n");
+        } else {
+            BIO_printf(bio_err, "Generating a %ld bit %s private key\n",
+                       newkey, keyalgstr);
+        }
 
         EVP_PKEY_CTX_set_cb(genctx, genpkey_cb);
         EVP_PKEY_CTX_set_app_data(genctx, bio_err);