Avoid shadowing 'free' in X509_LOOKUP_met_set_free
authorBenjamin Kaduk <bkaduk@akamai.com>
Thu, 16 Aug 2018 20:42:55 +0000 (15:42 -0500)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 17 Aug 2018 18:57:23 +0000 (13:57 -0500)
gcc 4.6 (arguably erroneously) warns about our use of 'free' as
the name of a function parameter, when --strict-warnings is enabled:

crypto/x509/x509_meth.c: In function 'X509_LOOKUP_meth_set_free':
crypto/x509/x509_meth.c:61:12: error: declaration of 'free' shadows a global declaration [-Werror=shadow]
cc1: all warnings being treated as errors
make[1]: *** [crypto/x509/x509_meth.o] Error 1

(gcc 4.8 is fine with this code, as are newer compilers.)

Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/6991)

crypto/x509/x509_meth.c
include/openssl/x509_vfy.h

index 05ed4bf..9dc587a 100644 (file)
@@ -58,9 +58,9 @@ int (*X509_LOOKUP_meth_get_new_item(const X509_LOOKUP_METHOD* method))
 
 int X509_LOOKUP_meth_set_free(
     X509_LOOKUP_METHOD *method,
-    void (*free) (X509_LOOKUP *ctx))
+    void (*free_fn) (X509_LOOKUP *ctx))
 {
-    method->free = free;
+    method->free = free_fn;
     return 1;
 }
 
index a657ec2..2adb155 100644 (file)
@@ -401,7 +401,7 @@ int (*X509_LOOKUP_meth_get_new_item(const X509_LOOKUP_METHOD* method))
     (X509_LOOKUP *ctx);
 
 int X509_LOOKUP_meth_set_free(X509_LOOKUP_METHOD *method,
-                              void (*free) (X509_LOOKUP *ctx));
+                              void (*free_fn) (X509_LOOKUP *ctx));
 void (*X509_LOOKUP_meth_get_free(const X509_LOOKUP_METHOD* method))
     (X509_LOOKUP *ctx);