BIO_ctrl: Avoid spurious error being raised on NULL bio parameter
authorTomas Mraz <tomas@openssl.org>
Mon, 27 Sep 2021 07:45:31 +0000 (09:45 +0200)
committerTomas Mraz <tomas@openssl.org>
Tue, 28 Sep 2021 10:12:32 +0000 (12:12 +0200)
Some of the functions are being called on NULL bio with the
expectation that such call will not raise an error.

Fixes #16681

Reviewed-by: Paul Dale <pauli@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Shane Lontis <shane.lontis@oracle.com>
(Merged from https://github.com/openssl/openssl/pull/16686)

crypto/bio/bio_lib.c

index 25df70f..b5454f1 100644 (file)
@@ -563,10 +563,8 @@ long BIO_ctrl(BIO *b, int cmd, long larg, void *parg)
 {
     long ret;
 
-    if (b == NULL) {
-        ERR_raise(ERR_LIB_BIO, ERR_R_PASSED_NULL_PARAMETER);
+    if (b == NULL)
         return -1;
-    }
     if (b->method == NULL || b->method->ctrl == NULL) {
         ERR_raise(ERR_LIB_BIO, BIO_R_UNSUPPORTED_METHOD);
         return -2;
@@ -591,10 +589,8 @@ long BIO_callback_ctrl(BIO *b, int cmd, BIO_info_cb *fp)
 {
     long ret;
 
-    if (b == NULL) {
-        ERR_raise(ERR_LIB_BIO, ERR_R_PASSED_NULL_PARAMETER);
+    if (b == NULL)
         return -2;
-    }
     if (b->method == NULL || b->method->callback_ctrl == NULL
             || cmd != BIO_CTRL_SET_CALLBACK) {
         ERR_raise(ERR_LIB_BIO, BIO_R_UNSUPPORTED_METHOD);
@@ -655,10 +651,8 @@ BIO *BIO_pop(BIO *b)
 {
     BIO *ret;
 
-    if (b == NULL) {
-        ERR_raise(ERR_LIB_BIO, ERR_R_PASSED_NULL_PARAMETER);
+    if (b == NULL)
         return NULL;
-    }
     ret = b->next_bio;
 
     BIO_ctrl(b, BIO_CTRL_POP, 0, b);
@@ -728,10 +722,8 @@ BIO *BIO_find_type(BIO *bio, int type)
 
 BIO *BIO_next(BIO *b)
 {
-    if (b == NULL) {
-        ERR_raise(ERR_LIB_BIO, ERR_R_PASSED_NULL_PARAMETER);
+    if (b == NULL)
         return NULL;
-    }
     return b->next_bio;
 }