Call of memcmp with null pointers in obj_cmp()
authorHanno Böck <hanno@hboeck.de>
Mon, 11 May 2015 10:33:37 +0000 (11:33 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Wed, 13 May 2015 14:23:57 +0000 (15:23 +0100)
The function obj_cmp() (file crypto/objects/obj_dat.c) can in some
situations call memcmp() with a null pointer and a zero length.

This is invalid behaviour. When compiling openssl with undefined
behaviour sanitizer (add -fsanitize=undefined to compile flags) this
can be seen. One example that triggers this behaviour is the pkcs7
command (but there are others, e.g. I've seen it with the timestamp
function):
apps/openssl pkcs7 -in test/testp7.pem

What happens is that obj_cmp takes objects of the type ASN1_OBJECT and
passes their ->data pointer to memcmp. Zero-sized ASN1_OBJECT
structures can have a null pointer as data.

RT#3816

Signed-off-by: Matt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
crypto/objects/obj_dat.c

index 3df7ff2..6a068ee 100644 (file)
@@ -380,6 +380,8 @@ static int obj_cmp(const ASN1_OBJECT *const *ap, const unsigned int *bp)
     j = (a->length - b->length);
     if (j)
         return (j);
+    if (a->length == 0)
+        return 0;
     return (memcmp(a->data, b->data, a->length));
 }