Update CHANGES and NEWS for the new release
authorMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 2 Jul 2015 14:38:32 +0000 (15:38 +0100)
committerMatt Caswell <matt@openssl.org>
Thu, 9 Jul 2015 08:32:04 +0000 (09:32 +0100)
Reviewed-by: Stephen Henson <steve@openssl.org>
CHANGES
NEWS

diff --git a/CHANGES b/CHANGES
index af27f3f..7d4d2de 100644 (file)
--- a/CHANGES
+++ b/CHANGES
@@ -4,7 +4,18 @@
 
  Changes between 1.0.1o and 1.0.1p [xx XXX xxxx]
 
-  *)
+  *) Alternate chains certificate forgery
+
+     During certificate verfification, OpenSSL will attempt to find an
+     alternative certificate chain if the first attempt to build such a chain
+     fails. An error in the implementation of this logic can mean that an
+     attacker could cause certain checks on untrusted certificates to be
+     bypassed, such as the CA flag, enabling them to use a valid leaf
+     certificate to act as a CA and "issue" an invalid certificate.
+
+     This issue was reported to OpenSSL by Adam Langley/David Benjamin
+     (Google/BoringSSL).
+     [Matt Caswell]
 
  Changes between 1.0.1n and 1.0.1o [12 Jun 2015]
 
diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index 1d81d4c..c736b24 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -7,7 +7,7 @@
 
   Major changes between OpenSSL 1.0.1o and OpenSSL 1.0.1p [under development]
 
-      o
+      o Alternate chains certificate forgery (CVE-2015-1793)
 
   Major changes between OpenSSL 1.0.1n and OpenSSL 1.0.1o [12 Jun 2015]