crypto/ppccap.c: SIGILL-free processor capabilities detection on MacOS X.
authorAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Sat, 1 Apr 2017 13:28:28 +0000 (15:28 +0200)
committerAndy Polyakov <appro@openssl.org>
Sun, 2 Apr 2017 18:45:59 +0000 (20:45 +0200)
It seems to be problematic to probe processor capabilities with SIGILL
on MacOS X. The problem should be limited to cases when application code
is debugged, but crashes were reported even during normal execution...

Reviewed-by: Kurt Roeckx <kurt@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Richard Levitte <levitte@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
crypto/ppccap.c

index b2b898e..2f7cd8e 100644 (file)
 #  define __power_set(a) (_system_configuration.implementation & (a))
 # endif
 #endif
+#if defined(__APPLE__) && defined(__MACH__)
+# include <sys/types.h>
+# include <sys/sysctl.h>
+#endif
 #include <openssl/crypto.h>
 #include <openssl/bn.h>
 
@@ -240,6 +244,28 @@ void OPENSSL_cpuid_setup(void)
 # endif
 #endif
 
+#if defined(__APPLE__) && defined(__MACH__)
+    OPENSSL_ppccap_P |= PPC_FPU;
+
+    {
+        int val;
+        size_t len = sizeof(val);
+
+        if (sysctlbyname("hw.optional.64bitops", &val, &len, NULL, 0) == 0) {
+            if (val)
+                OPENSSL_ppccap_P |= PPC_FPU64;
+        }
+
+        len = sizeof(val);
+        if (sysctlbyname("hw.optional.altivec", &val, &len, NULL, 0) == 0) {
+            if (val)
+                OPENSSL_ppccap_P |= PPC_ALTIVEC;
+        }
+
+        return;
+    }
+#endif
+
     if (getauxval != NULL) {
         unsigned long hwcap = getauxval(HWCAP);