RT3628: Allow filenames to be eliminated from compiled library
authorDavid Woodhouse <David.Woodhouse@intel.com>
Thu, 30 Jul 2015 10:45:25 +0000 (11:45 +0100)
committerRich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Wed, 17 Feb 2016 19:19:46 +0000 (14:19 -0500)
Although I explicitly don't care about the tinfoil-hat reason given in
the initial opening of RT#3628, that "paths usually contain private
information", there *are* situations where it's useful to eliminate the
filenames from the compiled binary.

The two reasons we do care about in the context of firmware such as EDK2
are that it allows for a smaller footprint, and it is also a necessary
component of a binary-reproducible build.

To that end, introduce OPENSSL_FILE and OPENSSL_LINE macros, defining
them to __FILE__ and __LINE__ respectively in the normal case, but to
"" and 0 when OPENSSL_NO_FILENAMES is set.

This is mostly a na├»ve invocation of
 $ sed 's/__\([FL]I[NL]E\)__/OPENSSL_\1/g' -i `git grep -l __LINE__`
but with a few instances change to just print the function name instead
(although those probably need to die anyway) and test cases left untouched.

Signed-off-by: Rich Salz <rsalz@openssl.org>
Reviewed-by: Tim Hudson <tjh@openssl.org>
Configure

index 58c0f7d..f8a1bda 100755 (executable)
--- a/Configure
+++ b/Configure
@@ -270,6 +270,7 @@ my @disablables = (
     "egd",
     "engine",
     "err",
+    "filenames",
     "heartbeats",
     "hmac",
     "hw(-.+)?",